Sunday, July 24, 2011

Five Elements of Authentic Leadership

In Ancient oriental Philosophy, wood, fire, earth, metal, water are five basic substances in nature movements, all five elements of nature could be integrated into the contemporary leadership and management essential.

Five Elements of Nature
 to Define the Authentic  Leadership

  • Wood – Means doing good things with elegance and personality. By nature, wood needs to grow and sprout in the Spring, Same as “Wood style” of leadership, blossom with innovation, inspiration, and influence,  to lead via nature, not via brute force.

  • Fire –On behalf of propriety, self-esteem, mix humanity with humility,  “Fire-Up” Summer- style leadership will lead with passion, sincerity, vision and mission, perception with great presentatio

  • Earth—or Soil stands for the gentle temperament, but confidence and honesty. “down-to-earth” style leadership means great attitude, taken responsibility, the listening skills and nature connection and engagement.

  • Gold—On behalf of justice with strong temperament,  “rule of gold” means equality, you should treat others as you want to be treated, gold could also mean the autumn, harvest, to deliver the sustainable result, with measurement culture, the incentive and rewards to the contribution.

  •  Water –On behalf of the flowing wisdom,  the insightful observation, the analytic prediction, and the art of good management practices.  Water may also mean Winter, the knowledge accumulation, the energy re-charging and long-term sustainability.

Level Five Leadership

 It is also being said that benevolence, righteousness, propriety, wisdom and trust of the five elements are the substance to achieve the level five leadership Mr. Jim Colin defined:

 The person who knows how to build enduring greatness through paradoxical blend of personal humility and professional will:

1) Drive for sustained results: The difference between the Level 5 and other leaders is that they are driven to produce sustainable results for their organizations. The idea is that level five leaders create long-term sustainable change.

2) Set up successors for success: Level 5 leaders are generally more interested in the success of the organization than their own personal success. They want to leave a lasting legacy of an organization that continues to prosper. They are self-confident enough to hire competent people (get the right people on the bus) and then delegate.

3) Modesty: Level 5 leaders should demonstrate compelling humility. They act with quiet, calm determination; and rely on inspired standards, not inspiring charisma, to motivate.

4) Take responsibility: Level 5 leaders stand out because they take responsibility when things go wrong. They do not look to blame others when things do not work out as expected. In addition, they rarely seek to take credit for things that go right, generally seeking to attribute the success to other factors.

5) Organization focus: The ambition of the Level 5 leader is first and foremost on the organization. Their desire for success for the organization that they lead far outweighs their drive for personal rewards.


i agree with you, in my opinion i think that as a leader need to be flexible. flexible with your manager or your organize committee but does not mean that , your follower can do what they like to do. As a leader need to flexible and let your follower incharge so work, trust them . if leader found that have something wrong just guide your follower. a good leader also is a good listener. i like this topic. thanks for your sharing.
Express Bus From Singapore To Pulau Pinang Penang

HI, Jimes, thanks for comments, leadership is both art and scince, also a universal topic around the globe, the culture maybe different, but the essential of leadership is similar: leadership is an influence, encircling the world. thanks.

Pearl, I really enjoy reading your articles. thanks for the insights.

Do you usually think about optimizing your articles for search algorithms?

The five elements or Panchamahabhutas namely Aakash (Space), Vaayu (Air), Agni (Fire), Jala (Water) and Bhoomi (Earth).

Post a Comment